Species for a Forest Board Game

Hi, I am a Swedish biologist and in my freetime I have developed a family board game about Swedish forest species and ecology (www.naturenkallar.com). Now I am planning do adapt this board game to Finland, and would be very happy to get feedback on the species list, see below. The 52 forest species on the list are chosen for a number of reasons. They shall:

• represent different groups of species (plants, mammals, insects, mosses, lichens and fungi)
  • represent different forest habitats
  • be well-known OR be a key species OR look beautiful OR have a funny name OR be pedagogically interesting to learn about forest ecology.

Do you think the species on this list are characteristic for the forests of Finland? Do you think any species should be removed from the list? I am happy for any comments!

MAMMALS

Ursus arctos

Canis lupus lupus

Martes martes

Sciurus vulgaris

Alces alces

Clethrionomys glareolus

Lepus timidus

Apodemus flavicollis

Pteromys volans

BIRDS

Cyanistes caeruleus

Accipiter gentilis

Perisoreus infaustus

Aegolius funereus

Columba oenas

Dryocopus martius

Aegithalos caudatus caudatus

Tetrao urogallus

INSECTS

Aromia moschata

Tragosoma depsarium

Hormopeza obliterata

Melanophila acuminata

Buprestis octoguttata

Celastrina argiolus

Bombus lucorum

Vespa crabro

WORMS

Lumbricus rubellus

FUNGI

Sarcosoma globosum

Tricholoma matsutake

Russula aurea

Artomyces pyxidatus

Amanita muscaria var. muscaria

Laetiporus sulphureus

Geastrum rufescens

Cantharellus lutescens

PLANTS

Cypripedium calceolus

Hepatica nobilis

Anemone nemorosa

Matteuccia struthiopteris

Vaccinium myrtillus

Vaccinium vitis-idaea

Calluna vulgaris

Calypso bulbosa

MOSSES

Rhodobryum roseum

Polytrichum commune

Sphagnum squarrosum

LICHENS

Cetraria islandica

Usnea dasypoga

Lobaria pulmonaria

Cladonia rangiferina

3 tykkäystä